Skip to content

The Real Secret of the Streets

July 12, 2012

Firstly this is a personal post from me – Naseem Khan – and not necessarily a Friends of Arnold Circus view. I confess I have forgotten my password, and so have been writing posts as ‘foac’.

Watching the ‘Secret Streets’ programme last night about Arnold Circus and sitting just next to Arnold Circus was a strange experience. The place looked beautiful; the people were familiar; the history was fascinating. But there was something missing.

The programme did not recognise a very specific dynamic that has emerged around the Circus. It assumed that market forces alone had caused the change, and certainly those are not (now, or ever) unpowerful.  But I remember when we started the Friends back in 2004, the Circus was run down, filthy, dangerous, shunned. The Council at that point said (in writing) that it was not on its radar for improvement.

Incomers not developers provided the yeast for change.

Linking with local people, the Friends created an alliance with the school, brought kids up to plant, cut back vegetation, brought music back to the bandstand, formed a charity with 500 local members, created a platform for local history, teamed up with the community centre, started picnics, closed roads and campaigned to get rid of the buses that were in a lordly way using the Circus as just a turning circle.

And the Council responded. It started to recognise a new sort of alliance, and after six years it put in significant Planning Gain money. It worked with the Friends on a visionary scheme – first devised by Friends’ trustees and architects, Finn Williams, Caitlin Elster and Jamie Scott Baxter – to transform the Circus into the glorious place that the ‘Secret Streets’ portrayed so beautifully.

The point of this is not to pat ourselves on the back (though I am inordinately proud of what we have done, and proudest of all that I was Chair for six of those years) but to make a different and more important point. It is this:  Conventional wisdom – and the assumption of the film – is that gentrification destroys. It believes that gentrification replaces old history with its new glossy unaccountable toys. I challenge this.

Gentrification can – on the contrary and with certain conditions – be a huge and proper benefit. It can transform and transform appropriately. It does not have to mean just an influx of lattes and Brompton bikes.

But it is not a given. It needs a number of things from the incomers’ side – respect for local history and values; readiness to integrate; imagination enough to create new and inclusive ways of working.  And it needs backing from the Council to have the imagination to recognise a new kind of local force.

I think we managed this on Arnold Circus, and we learned inthe process.  I am sorry that the ‘Secret Streets’ could not go further and focus on something that is actually pretty special. It caries a potential that goes wider than the Circus for a more hopeful brand of hneighbourhood development and localism. It could teach lessons and cheer more widely in urban contexts. It is the ‘Secret’ of the ‘Secret Streets’.

38 Comments leave one →
  1. Lesley Turner permalink
    July 12, 2012 11:23 am

    Thank you for that interesting information Naseem. I have enjoyed watching all the “History of our Streets” progammes.

  2. Christina permalink
    July 12, 2012 5:01 pm

    Thank you Naseem for the additional information you have provided.I have watched with great interest the “Secret of our Streets” series as I have had connections with a couple of those featured. However even though I have never so much as passed by Arnold Circus I now feel compelled to visit. Which I will be doing in the near future.
    Thank you again for very informative piece of wring .
    Regards
    Christina

  3. Andrea permalink
    July 12, 2012 10:37 pm

    I have long been fascinated by Arnold Circus, first as an interesting circle on a page in my A-Z, and later, when I got there to look around, as someplace I wanted to learn more about. I’m based in the US, and I haven’t looked around the area for a number of years, so I feel glad to have been pointed in the direction today of this blog and the BBC program. I applaud your work to make your community a strong one and am looking forward to learning about the history of Arnold Cir (taking the issues of gentrification for what they’re worth–I like what you wrote here about that point).

  4. Terry Fitzpatrick permalink
    July 13, 2012 9:21 am

    I was interviewed for the programme because of my work with homeless Bangladeshi families during the 1970s. No one who is ever involved in campaigns thinks that they have ever been represented sufficiently in a documentary. The makers have only a limited slot and funds to tell what is very often a long complicated story.

    I think there should be a completely separate programme just about the seventies but then I don’t make them! What is good is that The Circus is that it does have Friends who have saved it and still are.

    On the whole I think the series has been balanced and it has certainly been well received with very good reviews. Let me know what you all think about the Bangladeshi squatting element of the episode.

    Terry.

  5. Terry Fitzpatrick permalink
    July 13, 2012 9:29 am

    Could someone get in touch with me as I am getting a DVD or whatever they are called now of the programme and it could be put up on the site.

  6. friendsofarnoldcircus permalink
    July 14, 2012 10:44 am

    Hi Terry – can you let us know how to contact you?

  7. Jodie permalink
    July 18, 2012 12:24 pm

    I really enjoyed the program I don’t live on Arnold Circus I but I live nearby on Columbia Road and I certainly had no idea about the history of the area it was fascinating! (It’s such a shame none of the slum dwellers it was built for ended up living in Boundary) Thanks for the information about how FOAC was formed I remember when Arnold Circus was really run down! Keep up the great work!

  8. July 27, 2012 1:32 pm

    I write as someone who went to Rochelle Street boy’s school between 1927 & 1933

    Like others here, I enjoyed the program but would have enjoyed it more had there been mention of the lovely band concerts we used to have almost weekly in the 1930’s summers and our lovely toffee apple man, Mr.Campbell.

    Ron Goldstein

  9. December 20, 2012 8:02 am

    Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back often!

  10. December 29, 2012 4:59 am

    Hello, i believe that i saw you visited my weblog so i got here to go back the prefer?
    .I am trying to in finding things to improve my web site!
    I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

  11. January 11, 2013 11:05 pm

    Howdy! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering if
    you knew where I could find a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having problems finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

  12. January 25, 2013 7:41 pm

    We’re a group of volunteers and starting a brand new scheme in our community. Your web site provided us with useful info to work on. You’ve done an impressive job and our whole community shall be grateful to you.

  13. March 8, 2013 9:37 am

    Thanks for any other wonderful post. Where
    else could anybody get that type of info in such a perfect method of
    writing? I’ve a presentation subsequent week, and I am on the look for such info.

  14. March 16, 2014 8:57 pm

    always i used to read smaller posts that also clear their motive, and that
    is also happening with this post which I am reading here.

  15. July 24, 2014 2:25 am

    This piece of writing iis actually a nice one it helps new the web visitors,
    who are wishing for blogging.

  16. August 11, 2014 5:37 am

    Hi, yes this piece of writing is really fastidious and I have leearned lot of things from
    it about blogging. thanks.

  17. September 25, 2014 3:48 pm

    Hey! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you
    if that would be okay. I’m definitely enjoying your blog and look
    forward to new updates.

  18. September 25, 2014 6:28 pm

    Very good write-up. I absolutely love this website. Continue the good work!

  19. September 25, 2014 7:36 pm

    Appreciating the time and effort you put into your blog and
    detailed information you present. It’s good to come across a blog every
    once in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed information. Great read!
    I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  20. September 25, 2014 8:15 pm

    This post offers clear idea designed for the new people of
    blogging, that truly how to do blogging.

  21. September 25, 2014 9:39 pm

    This article is in fact a good one it assists new net users, who are wishing in favor
    of blogging.

  22. September 26, 2014 12:03 am

    Thank you for the good writeup. It if truth be told was a leisure
    account it. Glance complicated to far brought agreeable from you!
    However, how can we keep in touch?

  23. September 26, 2014 3:28 am

    If you are going for most excellent contents like me, just pay a visit
    this site everyday because it provides feature contents, thanks

  24. September 27, 2014 7:31 pm

    Ask a educated practitioner if acid dietary supplements are right for you and have your zonulin and gastrin ranges tested.
    Because the signs are so related, many medical doctors assume
    that the affected person is over producing acid.

  25. September 27, 2014 7:35 pm

    Wrote more, thays all I have to say. Literally, it seejs as though you relied on the video to make your point.
    You definitely know what youree talking about, whyy waste your
    intelligence on just postinhg videos to ypur weblog when you could be giving
    us something informative to read?

  26. September 27, 2014 7:35 pm

    Can I simply just say what a comfort to find somebody that truly knows what they’re discussing on the internet.
    You definitely understand how to bring an issue to light and make it important.
    A lot more people really need to look at
    this and understand this side of the story. It’s surprising you are not more popular given that
    you most certainly possess the gift.

  27. September 27, 2014 7:36 pm

    Does your site have a contact page? I’m hazving trouble locating it but, I’d like to send you an email.
    I’ve got some recommendations for yiur blog you might be interested in hearing.
    Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing iit develop over time.

  28. September 29, 2014 12:23 pm

    Fine way of describing, and pleasant paragraph to obtain facts concerning
    my presentation subject matter, which i am going to present in university.

  29. September 29, 2014 8:59 pm

    Hi everyone, it’s my first visit at this web site, and post is genuinely fruitful for me, keep
    up posting these types of articles.

  30. September 30, 2014 5:50 am

    Specifically, if combining Website A and Site B provides
    the best likelihood of an affordable quote eg, ninety%,
    we then also look to see if every other combination gives an opportunity that is
    inside five % points of that ie, 85%. Here at iKube we advocate possibly getting a quote for the car you need before you purchase.

  31. October 2, 2014 3:27 pm

    I’m now not certain the place you’re getting your
    info, however great topic. I needs to spend some time
    finding out much more or figuring out more.
    Thanks for wonderful info I used to be in search of this information for my mission.

  32. October 4, 2014 3:44 am

    Fastidious respond in return of this matter with firm arguments and explaining all concerning that.

  33. October 6, 2014 5:42 am

    Pretty great post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to mention that I’ve truly loved surfing around your weblog posts.
    After all I will be subscribing on your feed and I’m hoping you
    write once more soon!

  34. October 8, 2014 3:37 am

    Trusted Network, Inc., together with Softpedia, guarantees that
    these premium accounts are 100% Clean.

  35. jungleheathackxz.wordpress.com permalink
    October 9, 2014 6:02 am

    Hi there Dear, are you actually visiting this web
    site on a regular basis, if so then you will definitely take fastidious know-how.

  36. November 4, 2014 7:57 pm

    It’s great for locating job offers, however, you can’t apply completely from the
    app. It runs very smoothly and quietly inside background of your Mac.
    Specifically, IBM wishes Microsoft to develop a
    programming language for the system.

  37. December 3, 2014 7:45 am

    I simply couldn’t depart your site prior to suggesting that
    I really enjoyed the standard information a person provide on your guests?
    Is going to be again steadily in order to check up on new posts

  38. February 2, 2015 4:59 am

    Hi there very cool web site!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Superb ..
    I’ll bookmark your website and take the feeds also?
    I am happy to seek out so many useful information here in the post, we
    need work out extra strategies in this regard, thank you for sharing.
    . . . . .

Leave a Reply

